Namola Communities: Posting in a Community

Everything you need to know about posting in a community - from how you do it, to when you should do it and how to follow other posts.

When should you post? 

Before we explain the intricacies of posting, it is important to understand the two key ways that posts are created: 

  1. Members can post anything they think may be of interest to their fellow community members ( suspicious behaviour, incidents, emergencies or the like) using photo's or text. Other members can then comment on, share or respond to these posts or reports. 
  2. Namola users can share their reported emergencies with their Communities. As always,  the Namola App will send an alert to the Namola Control Room, and the user will receive a call back from a Namola Operator, within seconds to confirm the emergency and to send help. In addition to this, you can now choose to post SOS events to your communities, with the exception of "Sensitive" and "Test" incidents, which will never be posted to communities.

How to create a post: 

If you see something, say something. The best way to report things in your community is through a post. Here's how: 

  • Tap on the "pen" icon in the bottom right-hand corner of the Safety NewsFeed
    IMG_0366
  • You can select which communities the post needs to go when you’re a member of more than 1 community that allows you to post.
    IMG_0367
    • You can add text and images
      IMG_0370
    • Tap "Post" in the top right-hand corner, to share the post with your community/communities
      IMG_0371
    • Posts are also created when you report an emergency through the Namola App: 
      • Accidents, crime, fire, medical and other incidents get posted to your communities (if they allow SOS posting)

    Note: Test and sensitive do not get posted to communities.


    If you want to opt out of letting your communities help out on your emergency you can do so by following these easy steps: 
      • Tap on the Safety Newsfeed
      • Tap on the Settings icon in the top right-hand corner
      • Tap "Share my incidents"
      • Disable the sharing of incidents by swiping the toggle, so that the toggle is grey and not blue or green and disabling the sharing of incidents

    Why would I post my emergencies to a community I have joined?

    There are a couple of benefits to sharing your emergency alerts on your community groups: 

    • Get assistance faster than before. As well as receiving help from Namola's national response centre, you can get emergency assistance from those closest to you in the form of a friendly neighbour, a community safety member or safety volunteers, and professional responders.
    • Create awareness in your community. Imagine this scenario, someone breaks into your house, you report it to Namola, but the perpetrators are scared off and run away. By sharing your incident with your community, other members of the community can be on the lookout for the perpetrators. Together you have a much better chance of catching them, or being aware that they are still in the area. 
    • Someone is there to hold your hand through an emergency. Half the battle won, when you have an emergency, is knowing that someone knows you are in trouble and need help. Namola has always prided itself on the ability to hold our user's hands through their emergency, but now we are taking it a step further, by creating a community that can come to your aid, and be there for you in your emergency. 

    How do you see the comments on the post? 

    • You can access the comments (like a chat thread) for every post and incident through the little chat bubble beneath the post.
      IMG_5B7689026BB7-1
    • You can comment with text or images
    • Comments are only allowed if the admin allows their users to comment on posts (see Managing your community article for more on the settings if you are setting up a group)
    • A member can only comment until the post is marked as closed by an admin (see Managing your community article for more on closing a post).
      IMG_0374
    • The user who posted and admins can also mark a post as ONGOING or CLOSED (see Managing your community article for more on closing a post).
    • Ongoing typically means something like “The road is closed due to rock falls and that’s the case right now”. Closed typically means something like “The protest action has been cleared and it’s all good again”.
    • Any post that is marked as CLOSED no longer allows comments from ANYONE. That is again to try keep the noise down and have a mechanism to shut shit down when it gets out of hand.

    Following a post

    • “Follow” means that you’ll get push notifications with any new comments on that thread. You can toggle between following and unfollowing a post by tapping on the star: 
      IMG_0375

       

      IMG_0376

       

    • The person who posted automatically follows the thread.
    • If you make a comment, you’ll automatically follow the thread and receive alerts when new comments for that post come in.
    If you would like to automatically follow any new posts from a certain community, follow these simple instructions: 
      • Tap on Newsfeed
      • Tap on the Settings icon
      • Tap on the Community name of the posts you would like to follow
      • Enable "Automatically follow new posts" by swiping the toggle, so that the toggle is blue or green and not grey.

    Namola Tip: This might be useful for admins who want to be maximally looped in and receive posts AND comments without having to follow the posts first.


    Muting a community: 

    Muting a community means that you you will not receive alerts of new posts or SOS’s for that community.

    Note: In general, for communities that you haven’t muted, you’ll only receive alerts of new posts and SOS’s. You will not receive alerts for new comments on posts unless you follow the post. 


    Who can delete a post? 

    • The member who posted the post can delete a post.
    • Admins can delete a post. 

    How do you delete a post?

    • The user who posted AND admins can also mark a post as ONGOING or CLOSED. Ongoing typically means something like “The road is closed due to rock falls and that’s the case right now”. Closed typically means something like “The protest action has been cleared and it’s all good again”.
    • Any post that is marked as CLOSED no longer allows comments from ANYONE. That is again to try keep the noise down and have a mechanism to shut shit down when it gets out of hand.
    • Edit and delete is not available for SOS. Because that’s driven by our Response Centre.
    • ONGOING or CLOSED for SOS is managed by our Response Centre; communities don’t have the option of changing it for SOS.